gvaish's picture
Submitted by gvaish on

April 01, 2011

Human resource development minister Arjun Singh announced the states where four new IITs and six additional IIMs will come up. The new IITs will come up in Orissa, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat and Punjab while the IIMs will come up in Tamil Nadu, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand and Haryana.

They are a part of the 8 IITs and 7 IIMs that the government plans to set up during the 11th five-year plan. The government had earlier announced setting up of of 4 IITs in Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan, Bihar and Himachal Pradesh and 1 IIM in Meghalaya.

While the IITs in Andhra Pradesh, Rajasthan and Bihar will start functioning from the coming academic session, which is to start in July, the IIM in Shillong will start operation at the same time.

Apart from this, the 16 states which do not have central universities will soon have one. The government is also planning to set up 14 world-class universities in India.

The 16 central universities would be set up in Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Gujarat, Rajasthan and Goa.

In three states, existing state universities would be taken over by the central government and converted into central universities. These are Dr Hari Singh Gaur University, Sagar (Madhya Pradesh); Guru Ghasidas University, Bilaspur (Chhattisgarh) and Goa University.


  • Times of India story here
  • Video of Arjun Singh announcing about the new IITs and IIMs